History of Buckskin Council

Formed in 1926, The Buckskin Council, Boy Scouts of America is charged with the responsibility to deliver the promise of Scouting in 19 counties in West Virginia, 3 counties in Virginia and 1 county in Kentucky. This stewardship includes program support and activities, adult leader training, youth recruitment, and fiscal sustainability.

In addition, the National Council of the Boy Scouts of America selected West Virginia as the new site for the Summit Bechtel Family Scout Reserve, High Adventure Base and permanent site for the National Scout Jamboree being constructed in Fayette County and in the heart of the Buckskin Council.

Learn More >>